ILS Office

Director

Executive Law section 832 (2010) created the Office of Indigent Legal Services and specified its duties. A Director was to be nominated by the newly-appointed ILS Board, and the nomination sent to the Governor for approval or disapproval. Once approved, the Director "shall appoint employees and perform such other functions as are appropriate to ensure the efficient operation of the office within the amounts available therefor by appropriation."

Staff

The ILS Office is currently composed of the following people:

William J. Leahy, Director
Office: (518) 486-5747
Cell: (617) 997-9091
Bill.Leahy@ils.ny.gov


Jennifer Aguila, Statewide Implementation Paralegal
Office: (518) 486-4034
Cell: (518) 729-6558
Jennifer.Aguila@ils.ny.gov

Matthew Alpern, Interim Chief Statewide Implementation Attorney, Director of Quality Enhancement for Criminal Defense Trials
Office: (518) 473-5109
Cell: (518) 491-4247
Matthew.Alpern@ils.ny.gov

Peter W. Avery, Manager of Information Systems
Office: (518) 486-6681
Cell: (518) 469-1594
Peter.Avery@ils.ny.gov

Christine Becker, Administrative Officer
Office: (518) 486-9168
Cell:  (518) 935-7330
Christine.Becker@ils.ny.gov

Jami Blair, Assistant Counsel
Office: (518) 486-5457
Cell: (518) 935-7284
Jami.Blair@ils.ny.gov

Jessica Bogran, Hurrell-Harring Implementation Analyst
Office: (518) 486-3220
Cell: (518) 935-7868
Jessica.Bogran@ils.ny.gov

Angela Burton, Director of Quality Enhancement for Parent Representation
Office: (518) 474-4859
Cell: (518) 491-0094
Angela.Burton@ils.ny.gov

Patricia Cadrette, Assistant Grants Manager 1
Office: (518) 486-2725
Cell: (518) 903-1027
Patricia.Cadrette@ils.ny.gov

Jennifer Chenu, Hurrell-Harring Implementation Attorney for Caseload Standards
Office: (518) 486-5457
Cell: (518) 728-2709
Jennifer.Chenu@ils.ny.gov

Luchele Chisunka, Statewide Implementation Analyst
Office: (518) 486-7327
Cell: (518) 801-4140
Luchele.Chisunka@ils.ny.gov

Nora Christenson, Chief Hurrell-Harring Implementation Attorney
Office: (518) 486-9050
Cell: (518) 390-7439
Nora.Christenson@ils.ny.gov

Alyssa Clark, Hurrell-Harring Senior Research Associate
Office: (518) 486-7441
Cell: (518) 414-2542
Alyssa.Clark@ils.ny.gov

Lisa Coleman, Assistant Grants Manager 1
Office: (518) 486-5420
Cell: (518) 801-3602
Lisa.Coleman@ils.ny.gov

Jennifer Colvin, Manager of Grant Solicitation and Distribution
Office: (518) 486-9713
Cell: (518) 491-8548
Jennifer.Colvin@ils.ny.gov

Cynthia Feathers, Director of Quality Enhancement for Appellate and Post-Conviction Representation
Office: (518) 473-2383
Cell: (518) 949-6131
Cynthia.Feathers@ils.ny.gov

Tammeka Freeman, Executive Assistant
Office: (518) 486-2028
Cell: (518) 369-6014
Tammeka.Freeman@ils.ny.gov

Brendan Keller, Hurrell-Harring Implementation Attorney for Counsel at First Appearance
Office: (518) 486-1197
Cell: (518) 728-4958
Brendan.Keller@ils.ny.gov

Claire Knittel, Statewide Implementation Attorney - Caseload Standards
Office: (518) 486-1477
Cell: (518) 573-0077
Claire.Knittel@ils.ny.gov

Karlijn Kuijpers, Statewide Senior Research Associate
Office: (518) 486-7408
Cell: (518) 694-1361
Karlijn.Kuijpers@ils.ny.gov

Melissa Mackey, Director of Research
Office: (518) 486-3068
Cell: (518) 545-6318
Melissa.Mackey@ils.ny.gov

Lucy McCarthy, Assistant Counsel, Parent Representation
Office: (518) 486-4042
Cell: (518) 935-7587
Lucy.McCarthy@ils.ny.gov

Kathryn Murray, Statewide Implementation Attorney - NYC
Office: (518) 486-9024
Cell: (518) 573-0462
Kathryn.Murray@ils.ny.gov

Hannah Andrews O'Hara, Grants Administrator
Office: (518) 486-2557
Cell: (518) 573-0248
Hannah.Andrews@ils.ny.gov

Lisa Joy Robertson, Hurrell-Harring Eligibility Standards Implementation Attorney
Office: (518) 486-5667
Cell: (518) 390-7561
Lisa.Robertson@ils.ny.gov

Marian Smith, Auditor
Office: (518) 486-9034
Cell: (518) 801-4141
Marian.Smith@ils.ny.gov

Ummey Tabassum, Hurrell-Harring Implementation Research Specialist
Office: (518) 486-6150
Cell: (518) 898-7069
Ummey.Tabassum@ils.ny.gov

Patricia Warth, Counsel
Office: (518) 486-5337
Cell: (518) 603-0851
Patricia.Warth@ils.ny.gov

Cie-Nicholas Watson, Data Scientist
Office: (518) 486-5715
Cell: (518) 380-0643
Cie-Nicholas.Watson@ils.ny.gov

Claire Zartarian, Statewide Implementation Attorney for Counsel at First Appearance
Office: (518) 486-7407
Cell: (518) 937-5844
Claire.Zartarian@ils.ny.gov