ILS Office

Director

Executive Law section 832 (2010) created the Office of Indigent Legal Services and specified its duties. A Director was to be nominated by the newly-appointed ILS Board, and the nomination sent to the Governor for approval or disapproval. Once approved, the Director "shall appoint employees and perform such other functions as are appropriate to ensure the efficient operation of the office within the amounts available therefor by appropriation."

Staff

The ILS Office is currently composed of the following people:

William J. Leahy, Director
Tel.: (518) 486-5747
Bill.Leahy@ils.ny.gov


Jennifer Aguila, Statewide Implementation Paralegal
Tel.: (518) 486-4034
Jennifer.Aguila@ils.ny.gov

Matthew Alpern, Interim Chief Statewide Implementation Attorney, Director of Quality Enhancement for Criminal Defense Trials
Tel.: (518) 473-5109
Matthew.Alpern@ils.ny.gov

Peter W. Avery, Manager of Information Systems
Tel.: (518) 486-6681
Peter.Avery@ils.ny.gov

Christine Becker, Administrative Officer
Tel.: (518) 486-9168
Christine.Becker@ils.ny.gov

Jami Blair, Assistant Counsel
Tel.: (518) 486-5457
Jami.Blair@ils.ny.gov

Jessica Bogran, Hurrell-Harring Implementation Analyst
Tel.: (518) 486-3220
Jessica.Bogran@ils.ny.gov

Angela Burton, Director of Quality Enhancement for Parent Representation
Tel.: (518) 474-4859
Angela.Burton@ils.ny.gov
Patricia Cadrette, Assistant Grants Manager 1
Tel.: (518) 486-2725
Patricia.Cadrette@ils.ny.gov

Jennifer Chenu, Hurrell-Harring Implementation Attorney for Caseload Standards
Tel.: (518) 486-5457
Jennifer.Chenu@ils.ny.gov

Luchele Chisunka, Statewide Implementation Analyst
Tel.: (518) 486-7327
Luchele.Chisunka@ils.ny.gov

Nora Christenson, Chief Hurrell-Harring Implementation Attorney
Tel.: (518) 486-9050
Nora.Christenson@ils.ny.gov

Alyssa Clark, Hurrell-Harring Senior Research Associate
Tel.: (518) 486-7441
Alyssa.Clark@ils.ny.gov

Lisa Coleman, Grants Administrator
Tel.: (518) 486-5420
Lisa.Coleman@ils.ny.gov

Jennifer Colvin, Manager of Grant Solicitation and Distribution
Tel.: (518) 486-9713
Jennifer.Colvin@ils.ny.gov

Cynthia Feathers, Director of Quality Enhancement for Appellate and Post-Conviction Representation
Tel.: (518) 473-2383
Cynthia.Feathers@ils.ny.gov

Dana Ferris, Assistant Grants Manager 2
Tel.: (518) 486-6480
Dana.Ferris@ils.ny.gov

Tammeka Freeman, Executive Assistant
Tel.: (518) 486-2028
Tammeka.Freeman@ils.ny.gov

Brendan Keller, Hurrell-Harring Implementation Attorney for Counsel at First Appearance
Tel.: (518) 486-1197
Brendan.Keller@ils.ny.gov

Claire Knittel, Statewide Implementation Attorney - Caseload Standards
Tel: (518) 486-1477
Claire.Knittel@ils.ny.gov

Karlijn Kuijpers, Statewide Senior Research Associate
Tel: (518) 486-7408
Karlijn.Kuijpers@ils.ny.gov

Melissa Mackey, Director of Research
Tel.: (518) 486-3068
Melissa.Mackey@ils.ny.gov

Lucy McCarthy, Assistant Counsel, Parent Representation
Tel: (518)486-4042
Lucy.McCarthy@ils.ny.gov

Kathryn Murray, Statewide Implementation Attorney - NYC
Tel.: (518) 486-9024
Kathryn.Murray@ils.ny.gov

Lisa Joy Robertson, Hurrell-Harring Eligibility Standards Implementation Attorney
Tel.: (518) 486-5667
Lisa.Robertson@ils.ny.gov

Marian Smith, Auditor
Tel.: (518) 486-9034
Marian.Smith@ils.ny.gov

Ummey Tabassum, Hurrell-Harring Implementation Research Specialist
Tel.: (518) 486-6150
Ummey.Tabassum@ils.ny.gov

Patricia Warth, Counsel
Tel.: (518) 486-5337
Patricia.Warth@ils.ny.gov

Claire Zartarian, Statewide Implementation Attorney for Counsel at First Appearance
Tel.: (518) 486-7407
Claire.Zartarian@ils.ny.gov